The historic Quarter Circle A Ranch, nestled along the banks of Little Goose Creek, is the backdrop for The Brinton Museum. The Historic Ranch House was built in 1892 by William Moncreiffe, renovated and enlarged by Bradford Brinton in 1927-28, and opened to the public by Helen Brinton as a memorial to her brother, Bradford, in 1961. The ranch property is a nature preserve and recognized by the Audubon Society as an Important Bird Area. Nature trails and landscaped areas allow for great viewing of local birds and wildlife.
The architecturally-significant Forrest E. Mars, Jr. Building features an extensive collection of historic Native American art from the Gallatin and Brinton Collections, Western art significant to the area, and rotating exhibits of contemporary art and historic photographs. The Brinton Bistro, located on the top floor, has delicious fresh food and breathtaking views of the Bighorn Mountains.
The historic Main Ranch House is decorated as it was when the Brintons lived there, preserving the way of life of an early-20th Century gentleman rancher. The house contains an extensive collection of books, friezes by noted Western artists such as Ed Borein, sculpture, paintings, firearms, rare documents, and other articles of a life well lived.
Experience the Art of the Big Horns at The Brinton Museum!
FROM INTERSTATE 90 HEADING SOUTH: Take exit 25 (Coffeen Avenue); head west (towards town) on Brundage Lane to second traffic light; turn left (south) onto Coffeen Avenue/Highway 87; head south to junction with Highway 335; continue straight on Highway 335 (do not turn right or left at the junction) to Big Horn; continue west on Highway 335 as it curves around the town; after 3 miles, turn left (downhill) onto Brinton Road; continue past the bridge and turn right at the marked entrance.
FROM INTERSTATE 90 HEADING NORTH: Take exit 33 (Meade Creek); head west on Highway 342; turn right (north) onto Highway 87; proceed to junction with Highway 335; turn left (south); continue west on Highway 335 as it curves around the town; after 3 miles, turn left (downhill) onto Brinton Road; continue past the bridge and turn right at the marked entrance.
Parking is near the Gallery, past the Ranch House.